8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

Treasure in Heaven December 6, 2011

Filed under: Family,Miscarriage — 8littlearrows @ 11:16 pm

I heard today of a dear woman who is really struggling after miscarrying her first baby, and it brought back so many memories for me.  When I was going through my own valleys of loss, I found so much comfort in talking to others who had experienced the same thing.  I was also ministered to through music, particularly that of Watermark and Marie Bellet, who both have songs specifically about miscarriage. Since I’m a musician myself, these songs really helped me process what I was feeling.  I spent quite a bit of time journaling as well, and even composed lyrics to my own song, which have yet to be set to music.  I haven’t shared them with too many people, but I got thinking today that if others’ experiences helped me so much, maybe my experience could help someone, too.  I’ve shared my miscarriage story here:  https://8littlearrows.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/no-pain-no-gain/, but today, I thought I would also share the song lyrics I wrote after my second miscarriage.  So without further ado, here it is:

Treasure in Heaven

While I take up this cross

I despise the shame.

I wish it could be another way.

I know I have to say, “Thy will be done,”

But it’s so hard to let go of a life just begun.

Then I hear You say:

“Do not lay up for yourself treasures on Earth,

But lay up treasures in Heaven,

For where your treasure is,

there will your heart be also.”

And now I have a treasure in Heaven

neither moth nor rust can consume,

and Satan has no claim on her soul,

’cause I know she’s already with You.

So break this stubborn human heart, Lord.

Help me say, “Thy will be done.”

Deep down I know it was in your wisdom

that You took away my little one.

My heart is with my treasure.

She keeps my eyes fixed on the prize —

that one day we will praise the Lord

together, side by side.

And in the meantime, my little treasure,

pray for your mother’s aching heart.

Pray for me. Pray for me.

(For Hope, January 1995, Mary Rose, January 2001, Trinity, April 2001)

For a beautiful prayer after a miscarriage, click here: https://8littlearrows.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/prayer-after-a-miscarriage/

 

3 Responses to “Treasure in Heaven”

  1. Praying with you, Tess. It’s never easy, but God is faithful. Praying you will feel him holding you close.

  2. Tess Says:

    Thank you for this beautiful song/prayer. I have just printed it to paste in my prayers journal. I will read it daily as I try to heal from losing my baby at 11 weeks.

  3. What a beautiful song … praying that you will put it to music and sing your heart out for your precious babies and all of those who would benefit from hearing your angelic voice! You have been a gift Colleen – thank you for sharing your lyrics with us. What a blessing!


Leave a comment