8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

Prayer after a Miscarriage February 17, 2011

Filed under: Family,Miscarriage — 8littlearrows @ 5:14 pm

I happened upon this prayer the other night on the Faith and Family website, and I found it so beautiful that I wanted to share it.  When I had my three miscarriages, one of the things I found most comforting was that I knew the babies I had lost were now little saints in heaven, and could intercede for me, their dad, and their siblings.  This prayer comes from a “Mother’s Manual,” and it’s a wonderful way to maintain a connection with your little one, and stay focused on the bigger spiritual realities of what is otherwise a very painful loss:

My darling (name) you are now in joy in the presence of our God; and in your spotless innocence, which He loves, you can speak to Him in a voice that He will heed.  You are still my little baby and will surely regard the prayers of your mother who bore you. So with confidence, then, I speak to you. Intercede for me to obtain the favor that I here ask as a mother through her child who stands before the throne of God (mention petition).  But, if what I ask is not according to the wisdom and loving designs of Almighty God for me and others, then ask Him to grant what is best according to His good pleasure and to give me the wisdom and faith to conform my will to His.  Amen.

 

By the way, just wanted to let you know, if you’re not aware of it already, that www.faithandfamilylive.com has some great stuff to support you in your desire to grow in holiness and  in the Catholic faith.  Check it out.

 

3 Responses to “Prayer after a Miscarriage”

  1. […] a beautiful prayer after a miscarriage, click here: https://8littlearrows.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/prayer-after-a-miscarriage/ GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  2. Merry, I’m so glad! Praise the Lord! Feel free to show her my other post about miscarriage, too, if you think she would get something from it. It was back in August, I think, and titled “No Pain, No Gain.” I’ve found lots of great links on the faithandfamilylive website, too. Miss you guys too. Still working on finding a weekend to visit.

  3. Merry Says:

    Col,
    This is so weird. I almost messaged you the other day asking if you knew of anything like this for a friend of mine. Obviously the Lord is using you big time lately!!! Not that He doesn’t always use you. 🙂 Miss you!
    merry


Leave a Reply

