8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

A Perfect Day February 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — 8littlearrows @ 8:49 pm

Don’t you just love those days when everything works out perfectly?  It doesn’t happen often, but it did today.  My lovely mama came and watched the younger kids for me so I could get away for a few hours to ski with my hubby and my older kids. And she let me borrow her car, since mine is in the shop.  (Thanks Mom!)  I had a wonderful time of prayer on my way to the slopes.  The weather was absolutely beautiful — sunny, and warm enough to ski without coats.  It felt glorious to be flying down the hills with the sun and wind on my face, and not a care in the world. 

When I got home, fixing dinner was easy because I had had time in the morning to prep everything.  And I was in such a good place that I didn’t even get upset that hubby and kids got home late.  I just fed the younger ones and figured the rest would show up when they showed up.  When they got home, my hubby grilled salmon for me, since I’m on a gluten-free diet and couldn’t eat the pancakes and sausage I had made for everyone else. (Thank you, hon!) The baby took her medicine beautifully, and she and the two-year-old went to bed without a fuss.And on top of all that, I actually got a couple loads of laundry done today, too!

Now, a pessimist would say, “I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.”  But not I.  No way!  Will the other shoe drop?  Of course!  But why on earth would I want to spend time worrying about when and how, instead of enjoying the blessing of the moment?  Here’s the way I see it: I need to soak up every minute of a perfect day to fuel me for the rest of the not-so-perfect days.  Because I know from experience that when that shoe drops, I’m going to need to remember this perfect day so I’m not tempted to get overwhelmed. 

And the last thing I’m going to do is take a day like this for granted. See, God is so wise.  I think He knows that if He gave me too many of these “perfect” days, my ego would probably get a little carried away and I would start trying to take credit for being a great mom, wife, etc.  But since these days are pretty rare, I’m able to realize that anything right and good and beautiful in my life is all gift.  And “every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows” (James 1:17, NIV).  So I thank Him for this wonderful day, and for blessing me with the grace to just enjoy it.

 

3 Responses to “A Perfect Day”

  1. Judy Says:

    I LOVE this post. LOVE IT.

  2. fivehalos Says:

    NIce. Love those kinds of days.

  3. This makes me happy 🙂 Glad you had such a great day sis!


Leave a Reply

