8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

Music That Moves Me February 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — 8littlearrows @ 9:35 pm

I was getting ready for a mini road trip today and was looking for some good music to take along.  I opened the big CD wallet that I found on the mantle, and there was my Sara Groves CD.  Just seeing it made me smile — it was like running into an old friend.  You know, one of those friends you don’t see very much, but when you do see them, you just pick right back up where you left off.

You see, God knew that I needed to listen to that CD today.  The past year has been one of constant discernment about our future, with not a lot of answers.  I try hard to live in the moment, but some days I just give in to frustration and discouragement.  I’m a very “steady” person, and I don’t mind change, but I like to be prepared for it.  This past year, we have thought a few different times that we were going to be moving, but each time it has been delayed.  We keep praying for God to reveal His will, but apparently He’s not ready to do that yet.  The uncertainty is hard for me, because I don’t know what is going to be expected of me.  So anyway, the last week or so I’ve been having a hard time with the waiting, and with trusting that God has a plan that is surely better than the one I have.

Enter Sara Groves.  She has a way with words.  When I was first introduced to her music a few years ago, her lyrics really spoke to me, like she was singing my thoughts.  Or, in today’s case, the thoughts I needed to be thinking.  My favorite song by far is the one I need to be singing every day.  It goes like this:

Morning by morning, I wake up to find the power and comfort of God’s hand in mine. Season by season, I watch Him, amazed, in awe of the mystery of His perfect ways.  All I have need of His hand will provide.  He’s always been faithful to me.

I can’t remember a trial or a pain He did not recycle to bring me gain.  I can’t remember one single regret in serving God only, in trusting His hand.  All I have need of His hand will provide.  He’s always been faithful to me.

This is my anthem.  This is my song, the theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long.  God has been faithful; He will be again.  His loving compassion — it knows no end.  All I have need of His hand will provide.  He’s always been faithful to me. (From her album “Conversations”)

I sang along in my car, but changed the words just a bit so I was singing to Him instead of about Him.  It’s amazing how it changed my whole perspective.  Because it’s so true: He is faithful, and He does always provide what I need. I just forget that sometimes.  Thanks for the reminder, Sara.  And thank You Lord for the gift of music that moves me in ways that other things can’t.

What music moves you?  Feel free to leave your favorite in the comment section.  I’m always looking for some new artists.

 

2 Responses to “Music That Moves Me”

  1. Martina Caspersson Says:

    Dear Colleen, I will certainly look for that CD. I will also be praying for you and your family that God will reveal slowly, but certainly His will for all of you. Colleen, He sees your frustrations and I think He’s calling for you to TRUST in His plans for you. Try to remain calm, but prayerful, as you do and you will gradually know His will and don’t get discouraged–that definitely is a NO, NO. Love and prayers, Martina

  2. Mary beth Says:

    I needed this today! I have been having such a hard time trusting, this brought me to tears because I realized I havent been fully trusting in Him. Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

