8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

Discipline Tips? January 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — 8littlearrows @ 11:08 pm

I’m supposed to give a talk to a MOPS (Mother of Preschoolers) group in February.  Public speaking is not my forte, so I’m looking for a little help.  The topic is discipline.  I have some ideas, but I wanted to get some  input from other moms or dads, too.  So here’s what I want to know: what is your favorite discipline tip or trick, something you’ve found that consistently seems to work?  Also, if any of you have any examples of real-life discipline situations, funny or serious, that would be good, too.  Thanks in advance for your ideas!

 

4 Responses to “Discipline Tips?”

  1. Merry Says:

    Hi Col!
    Even though I wouldn’t call us ‘disciplined’ Shea loves a routine! If I vary the routine at naptime it throws him all off. This may sound bad, but I fought him at naptime forever, and the thing that has really worked is bribery. Yup, one chocolate pretzel as he goes down for a nap as long as he doesn’t cry. It’s worked for a good month and a half now. Completely worth it. 🙂
    Anyway, I’m waiting to see how this plays out, but in the middle of a tantrum once I asked Shea if he needed hugs. He immediately stopped, and said yes. Now instead of throwing a fit he says, “I just need hugs.” Sometimes he uses it to try to get out of the crib or to get out of trouble, but it’s been really neat to see that he recognizes when he feels angry, and asks for hugs instead of throwing a tantrum. When Kevin or I have a bad day, we say “I just need hugs” as well.
    One last thing, if I do put him in time-out, he knows that he needs to say “Please forgive me, mama.” I learned this from my friend’s family. They’re thought was if you just say “I’m sorry” it has much less weight than asking for forgiveness. I also ask Shea to forgive me when I’ve acted out of anger, that way he knows it’s reciprocal.
    Hope that helps! If you’re talk is on being disciplined as a family, well, we’re not the example yet!! 🙂
    Peace!

  2. andrea bouvier Says:

    time-out’s in the “naughty chair” seem to work OK for our 6 and 3 year-old girls. 5-10 minutes depending on the offense. We also keep a chart where we will put a minus sign when the child breaks a house rule (ages 3-10 here). This minus goes against the amount they earn in a weekly allowance. However, for a deed done above and beyond expectation, they will earn a star, which earns them additional change in their weekly allowance. Dinner time can often be a time of stress for me and our 6 year-old b/c she pretty much dislikes anything I make, unless it’s hot dog, boxed mac and cheese – you get the idea. So, I have been told, but haven’t done much of it, is to offer the made dinner or a PBJ sandwich…she chooses. This advice comes from my sister, who has an older child (11) , but originally comes from their counselor (as their daughter is adopted, has been having some issues at home with respecting authority). I cannot think of a funny discipline scenario – sad – most of the time discipline is a time with too much loud, booming voices and arguements.

  3. Linda Miller Says:

    We have always scheduled our days like so: Either 7:30 or 8:00 a.m. begins schoolwork. After 4 subjects the child has earned the midmorning fruit snack (this is for younger kids, older kids work longer on subjects so it takes fewer subjects to reach mid morning). Noon is lunch for 1/2 hour, then they finish their schoolwork. After schoolwork comes housework: clean your room, do your laundry folding, empty the dishwasher…whatever. Then they can play for the rest of the day. If they don’t finish the 4 subjects by lunch, they lost their morning snack. If they dawdle on the chores, they reduce/lose their afternoon playtime. After dinner they need to finish their chores (on a bad day, they wouldn’t have) which will reduce funtime at night until it’s bedtime. This has worked for us! The key is consistency. If Mom is not on top of it, it won’t work.

  4. Eileen Says:

    Colleen, When the kids were small, we had privilege cards with pictures of books, computer, television, whatever they (and I viewed as a privilege). If they had three warnings, they would lose one. Made for some boring days for them (and I had to work harder to keep them entertained) but even now they talk about them (and ask for them). It was a quick, easy way to see what they had and what would happen if they didn’t do their part.


Leave a Reply

