8 Little Arrows in my Quiver

Reflections and Ramblings of a Happily Harried Mom of Many

Happy Feast of St. Nicholas December 6, 2010

Filed under: Advent and Christmas — 8littlearrows @ 10:58 pm

Seventeen years' worth of Santas

I’ve never been a “knick-knack” kind of person (at least not since I was a kid), but I’ve always liked the folk-art style painted Santa figurines.  The first year we were married, my husband bought me one, and I liked it so much that it became a tradition.  Every year since then it has become a challenge for him to find a new Santa that is in the same style, but still unique.  And every year, I can’t wait to see what he comes up with. 

We don’t usually decorate for Christmas until the week before, but the kids (and I) get so excited and impatient that I decided several years ago to take the Santas out on the feast of St. Nicholas each year.  After all, he was the original Santa, so it seemed appropriate.  And that way, we get a little taste of Christmas on December 6, but still retain the spirit of Advent by not bringing out all the other decorations.

My Santas also serve as  a visual reminder of how long Jay and I have been married.  Just seeing the growing mob of them up there on the mantle paints for me the picture of all that we’ve shared, from the early years in our little apartment with no money, to the more recent years of bursting at the seams in our current house. 

Every Santa has a little sticker on the bottom indicating the year it was given to me.  So each of the kids has “their” Santa, the one I received the year they were each born.  They get almost as excited as I am to take them out and set them up.  It’s a fun little tradition for all of us, and always brings back happy memories.

 

5 Responses to “Happy Feast of St. Nicholas”

  1. @Ania, We did that too, with a nativity set. It was fun collecting another piece each year.
    @ Kara, It’s never too late to start a new tradition. Your hubby can always play catch-up! 🙂

    I love traditions – the more traditions, the richer the memories. God bless you all.

  2. Ania Says:

    So sweet! My hubby and I shared our 1st married Christmas last year and we didn’t have a nativity. We received the base set from his parents as a gift, but there are add ons and we plan on getting a new piece each year. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kara Says:

    I LOVE this tradition. My mother has a ton of Santas (although she doesn’t have a mantle) she puts out in one spot during Christmastime. I think it’s sweet how your kids form an attachment to “their” Santa figurine… it sounds like something my sister and I would’ve done, as well. It’s neat how the Santas serve to show how long you’ve been married, too! I wish my husband had started a tradition like this last year (our first married Christmas was in ’09). Thanks for sharing your family tradition!

  4. Sarah Says:

    What an awesome tradition! I think I might adopt it when I have kiddos and a collection of Santas! I really love that your husband gets you a new one each year too! Things like that are so special!
    Merry Christmas!!

  5. Marjorie Says:

    that’s a really neat tradition! thanks for sharing and participating. love the falling snow on your homepage, too cool 🙂


Leave a Reply

